Cristie Community Forum

What will happen when I hit my backup retention limit?

When you reach your configured backup retention limit (configured in step 2 of the “Protect a New Machine” wizard), your two oldest backups are consolidated (combined).

This means that if you had an incremental backup schedule configured to run daily with a backup retention of 3, on day 4 (once the retention limit was hit) your backup taken on day 2 would be combined with the initial backup taken on day 1 resulting in 3 backups.